Michael Hersch: end stages, violin concerto

Patricia Kopatchinskaja, violin
International Contemporary Ensemble (ICE)
Orpheus Chamber Orchestra
New Focus Recordings
July 6, 2018
Purchase (newfocusrecordings.com)

Josh Modney performs with ICE on this record as first violinist.

Press Release:

Virtuoso violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja, for whom Michael Hersch’s Violin Concerto was composed, wrote recently of the piece that it “is an open wound, there is no other way to say it.” She continued, the work “is so convincing … moves me so deeply, makes me speechless, tolerates neither doubt nor objection. It is like a mountain one can’t ignore … everything is crystal clear, there is no decoration, no superficial beauty, no compromises. Everything is exactly in place, has found its perfect form.” A follow up to his haunting Images from a Closed Ward, New Focus releases Hersch’s Violin Concerto, performed by Kopatchinskaja with the International Contemporary Ensemble (ICE), and end stages in a performance by the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra. With both pieces, Hersch reinforces his reputation as a composer of gripping music, unafraid to tackle through sound the most vulnerable and difficult corners of the human psyche.